Home > Research > Project information

Transformations of the Police. One Hundred Years of Landeskriminalamt (LKA) Sachsen 1922-2022

Research field:Digital Humanities and Cross-Sectional Assignment
Research focus: 
Period: 01.2021–12.2024
Coordination: Prof. Dr. Mike Schmeitzner

PROJECT DESCRIPTION

One hundred years ago, on 1st October 1922, the first "Landeskriminalamt" (State Office of Criminal Investigations) in a federal state was founded in the still young Free State of Saxony. The project's topic is the history of this LKA, created in Saxony through nationalisation and centralisation, its follow-up institutions serving as central criminal investigation department in the period of 1945 to 1952 and from 1990, as well as the development of the regional federal Criminal Investigation Offices in Saxony. The police history of Saxony and its LKA reflect the vicissitudes of the century in a particularly concise manner: Founded in 1922, it was absorbed into the Reich-wide structures of the Nazi regime's police in the mid-1930s, re-established in 1945 under Soviet auspices and again abolished or centralised in 1952 during the high Stalinist phase of the SED state. In the course of German unification, the second re-establishment followed in 1990.

If and in what way possibly buried lines of tradition can be discovered and revitalised will have to be discussed by the project, as the Saxon LKA was - in its founding phase during the Weimar Republic - also internationally considered one of the most modern and progressive central institutions in the field of policing. A history of the criminal police must also address the fact that the German dictatorships invented entirely new criminal offenses, the prosecution of which by the criminal police followed the implementation of an ideological agenda - in the Nazi state defined in racist terms - with the long-term goal of transforming society. Conversely, regarding the transitions after the end of both dictatorships (1945, 1989/1990), questions must be asked about the criminal police's tasks in the judicial processing of the past regime's crimes and the policies of "transitional justice".

The project's aspiration is a modern institutional history - on the level and with the wide-ranging questions and methods of the contemporary historiography of German police history of the 20th century. Its methodical approach is to understand and present police history in Saxony as a transformation history. Therefore, the account will, regarding time, focus on the phases of political and social upheaval in the 20th century, as well as their antecedents and aftermath. Taking up the conceptual and methodical canon of recent research on police history, which has been established for some years now, not only institutional structures and police personnel but also police practices are to be examined.

STAFF

EXTERNAL STAFF

Prof. Dr. Tom Thieme / Hochschule der Sächsischen Polizei (FH)

Korinna Lorz / Projektteam Museum der Polizei Sachsen

Dr. Herbert Reinke, Köln

Dr. Carsten Schreiber, Wedemark

Prof. Dr. Daniel Siemens, Newcastle University

COOPERATIONS

Hannah-Arendt-Institut für Totalitarismusforschung e. V. an der TU Dresden (HAIT) (federführend)

Hochschule der Sächsischen Polizei (FH)

Projektteam Museum der Polizei Sachsen

Home > forschung > Projektdetails

Transformationen der Polizei. Hundert Jahre Landeskriminalamt (LKA) Sachsen 1922-2022

Forschungsfeld:Digital Humanities und Querschnittsaufgabe
Zeitraum:01.2021–12.2024
Koordination: Prof. Dr. Mike Schmeitzner

PROJEKTBESCHREIBUNG

Vor 100 Jahren, am 1. Oktober 1922, wurde im noch jungen Freistaat Sachsen das erste „Landeskriminalamt“ in einem deutschen Bundesstaat gegründet. Thema des Projekts ist die Geschichte dieser in Sachsen durch Verstaatlichung und Zentralisierung geschaffenen LKA, sowie deren als kriminalpolizeiliche Zentralstelle fungierenden Folgeinstitutionen in der Zeit von 1945 bis 1952 und ab 1990 sowie die Entwicklung der regionalen staatlichen Kriminalämter in Sachsen. Die Polizeigeschichte Sachsens und seines LKA spiegelt die Wechselfälle des Jahrhunderts in besonders prägnanter Weise: Gegründet 1922, ging es Mitte der 1930er Jahre in die reichsweiten Strukturen der Polizei des NS-Regimes auf, wurde 1945 unter sowjetischen Vorzeichen neugegründet und 1952 in der hochstalinistischen Phase des SED-Staates wieder abgeschafft bzw. zentralisiert. Im Zuge der deutschen Vereinigung erfolgte 1990 die zweite Neugründung.

Ob und in welcher Form eventuell verschüttete Traditionslinien zu entdecken und wieder zu beleben sind, wird das Projekt zu diskutieren haben, galt das sächsische LKA in seiner Gründungsphase während der Weimarer Republik auch international als eine der modernsten und fortschrittlichsten Zentraleinrichtungen auf dem Gebiet des Polizeiwesens. Eine Geschichte der Kriminalpolizei muss auch thematisieren, dass die deutschen Diktaturen gänzlich neue Straftatbestände erfanden, deren Verfolgung durch die Kriminalpolizei der Umsetzung einer ideologischen – im NS-Staat rassistisch definierten – Agenda folgten, deren langfristiges Ziel die Umgestaltung der Gesellschaft war. Umgekehrt ist bei den Übergängen nach Ende der beiden Diktaturen (1945, 1989/90) nach den Aufgaben der Kriminalpolizei bei der justiziellen Bearbeitung der zurückliegenden Regimeverbrechen und den Politiken der „transitional justice“ zu fragen.

Angestrebt wird eine moderne Institutionengeschichte, auf dem Niveau und mit den weit aufgefächerten Fragestellungen und Methoden der aktuellen Geschichtsschreibung zur deutschen Polizeigeschichte des 20. Jahrhundert. Der methodische Zugriff ist dabei, Polizeigeschichte in Sachsen als Transformationsgeschichte zu begreifen und darzustellen. Die Darstellung konzentriert sich daher zeitlich auf die Phasen der politischen und gesellschaftlichen Umbrüche im 20. Jahrhundert, sowie deren jeweiliger Vorgeschichte und Nachwirkungen. Den seit einigen Jahren etablierten konzeptionellen und methodischen Kanon der neueren Forschungen zur Geschichte der Polizei aufgreifend, sollen dabei nicht nur institutionelle Strukturen und das Personal der Polizei, sondern auch die polizeiliche Praxis in den Blick genommen werden.

MITARBEITER

EXTERNE MITARBEITER / EXTERNAL STAFF

Prof. Dr. Tom Thieme / Hochschule der Sächsischen Polizei (FH)

Korinna Lorz / Projektteam Museum der Polizei Sachsen

Dr. Herbert Reinke, Köln

Dr. Carsten Schreiber, Wedemark

Prof. Dr. Daniel Siemens, Newcastle University

KOOPERATIONEN

Hannah-Arendt-Institut für Totalitarismusforschung e. V. an der TU Dresden (HAIT) (federführend)

Hochschule der Sächsischen Polizei (FH)

Projektteam Museum der Polizei Sachsen