Home > Research > Project information

Women who migrated from, to, and within Germany - interdisciplinary approaches taking into account the category experience 1918-2918

Research field:Dictatorship Research
Research focus: Rule and Society
Period: from 06.2020
Coordination: Dr. Francesca Weil

PROJECT DESCRIPTION

Presently, of roughly 70 million refugees worldwide, almost 50 percent are women. One reason among others is that the human rights of girls and women are severely violated in many countries of the world. Women fled and flee, therefore, not only for reasons of political, ethnical or religios persecution, but also because of women-specific persecution. The latter has many forms. It can be ascribed to religious convictions or tradition-related ideas and often aims to deny women a self-determined life.

The research project, designed by Francesca Weil, consistently follows a gender approach which relates women and men to each other and to the respective social realities. The causes and motives of flight, womens' situations in their countries of origin, the experiences during their fleeing, the integration into the countries of arrival, and the behaviour of host societies will be examined in detail.

It is certain that considerable gender-specific differences existed and exist regarding reasons, conditions and experiences of flight, as well as the granting of asylum and advantages and obstacles in integration. They were and are closely tied to gender roles and the expectations connected to them. Nevertheless, women who fled should not merely be perceived as victims, but first and foremost as thinking, acting, participating and experiencing actors of their environment.

Home > forschung > Projektdetails

Aus, nach und innerhalb von Deutschland geflüchtete Frauen – eine Erfahrungsgeschichte 1918-2018

Forschungsfeld:Nationalsozialismus
Zeitraum:ab 09.2020
Koordination:Dr. Francesca Weil

PROJEKTBESCHREIBUNG

Gegenwärtig sind von den ca. 70 Millionen Flüchtlingen weltweit fast 50 Prozent Frauen. Grund hierfür ist unter anderem auch, dass die Menschenrechte von Mädchen und Frauen in vielen Ländern der Welt gravierend verletzt werden. Frauen flüchteten und flüchten demnach nicht nur aus Gründen politischer, ethnischer oder religiöser Verfolgung, sondern auch aufgrund frauenspezifischer Verfolgung. Letztere ist vielgestaltig. Sie ist auf religiöse Überzeugungen oder traditionsbezogene Vorstellungen zurückzuführen und bezweckt häufig, Frauen ein selbstbestimmtes Leben zu verwehren.
Das von Francesca Weil konzipierte Forschungsprojekt folgt konsequent einem Gender-Ansatz, der Frauen und Männer zueinander und zu den jeweiligen gesellschaftlichen Gegebenheiten in Beziehung setzt. Konkret in den Blick genommen werden Fluchtursachen und -motive, die Situation der Frauen in den jeweiligen Herkunftsländern, die Erfahrungen auf der Flucht an sich, die Integration in den Ankunftsländern und das Verhalten der Aufnahmegesellschaften.
Fest steht, dass es erhebliche geschlechtsspezifische Unterschiede in Bezug auf Fluchtursachen, -bedingungen und -erfahrungen sowie auf die Anerkennung auf Asyl, Integrationsvorteile und -hindernisse gab und gibt. Sie waren und sind eng mit Geschlechterrollen und damit verbundenen Erwartungen verknüpft. Dennoch sollten geflüchtete Frauen nicht nur als Opfer wahrgenommen werden, sondern vor allem als nachdenkende, handelnde, partizipierende und erlebende Akteurinnen ihres Umfeldes.