Home > Research > Project information

Development of co-operative structures at the Hannah Arendt Institute at the TU Dresden and the Research Institute on Social Cohesion at Leipzig University

Research field:National Socialism
Period: 05.2019 - 01.2020 (Project completed)

PROJECT DESCRIPTION

The Saxon Ministry of Science and Art (SMWK) is funding a nine-month project for developing co-operative project structures in ‘Social Cohesion, Populism and Social Exclusion, Leipzig’, in which the HAIT is also participating.

The project, headed by Prof. Dr. Gert Pickel (Leipzig University) and Dr. Steffen Kailitz (HAIT) bears the short title ‘Development of Co-operative Structures of the Hannah Arendt Institute for Totalitarianism Studies at the TU Dresden and the Research Institute on Social Cohesion at Leipzig University’. The central aim is to develop co-operative structures of the two institutions so as on the one hand to support the endeavours of the line of research on ‘Social Cohesion, Populism and Social Exclusion’, coordinated by Pickel at Leipzig University, to assume the functional co-ordination of the line of research on ‘Populism’ in connection with the Research Institute on Social Cohesion at Leipzig University. On the other hand, the expansion of co-operative structures will interweave with corresponding endeavours by the Research Institute on Social Cohesion extending beyond its Leipzig branch into Saxony. These endeavours include the establishment of co-operative structures in the measurement of levels of populism and extremism and in the co-radicalisation processes of Islamophobia and Islamism.

The aim is to report the status of research in both areas during the funding period and to conduct expert workshops with prominent national and international researchers.

In addition to the HAIT, the co-operating partners are the Research Network on Integration, Xenophobia, and Right-Wing Extremism in Saxony (IFRiS) and the Research Institute on Social Cohesion at Leipzig University.

STAFF

Photo PD Dr. habil. Steffen Kailitz
PD Dr. habil. Steffen Kailitz
Academic Researchers
Katja Pietrusky
Research Assistant
Stefan Scharf
Student Assistant
Philipp Currle
Research Assistant
Tobias Genswein
Academic Researchers

COOPERATIONS

Forschungsnetzwerk Integrations-, Fremdenfeindlichkeits- und Rechtsextremismusforschung (IFRiS)

Forschungsinstitut Gesellschaftlicher Zusammenhalt, Standort Leipzig

Home > forschung > Projektdetails

Entwicklung von Kooperationsstrukturen von Hannah-Arendt-Institut, TU Dresden und Forschungsinstitut Gesellschaftlicher Zusammenhalt, Standort Universität Leipzig

Forschungsfeld:Extremismus
Zeitraum:05.2019 - 01.2020

PROJEKTBESCHREIBUNG

Das Sächsische Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kunst (SMWK) fördert in einem neunmonatigen Projekt die Entwicklung von Kooperationsprojektstrukturen im Themenfeld „Gesellschaftlicher Zusammenhalt, Populismus und soziale Abgrenzung, Standort Leipzig", an dem das HAIT in Kooperation beteiligt ist.

Das Projekt, das von Prof. Dr. Gert Pickel (Uni Leipzig) und PD Dr. Steffen Kailitz (HAIT) geleitetet wird, trägt den Kurztitel "Entwicklung von Kooperationsstrukturen von Hannah-Arendt-Institut, TU Dresden und Forschungsinstitut Gesellschaftlicher Zusammenhalt, Standort Universität Leipzig“. Zentrales Ziel hierbei ist es, Kooperationsstrukturen der benannten Institute zu entwickeln, wodurch einerseits die Bemühungen der von Pickel an der Universität Leipzig koordinierten Forschungslinie „Gesellschaftlicher Zusammenhalt, Populismus und soziale Abgrenzung“ unterstützt werden, die funktionale Koordination der Forschungslinie „Populismus“ im Rahmen des Forschungsinstituts Gesellschaftlicher Zusammenhalt, Standort Leipzig zu übernehmen. Andererseits soll über den Aufbau von Kooperationsstrukturen eine nach Sachsen hineinreichende Verzahnung entsprechender Bemühungen des Forschungsinstituts Gesellschaftlicher Zusammenhalt über den Leipziger Standort hinaus erreicht werden. Im Rahmen dieser Bestrebungen werden Kooperationsstrukturen auf dem Themenfeld der Messung von Populismus und Extremismus und dem Themenfeld der Co-Radikalisierungsprozesse von Islamfeindlichkeit und Islamismus aufgebaut. 

Angestrebt ist, im Förderzeitraum auf beiden Themenfeldern Berichte zum Forschungsstand zu erarbeiten und Expertenworkshops mit ausgewiesenen nationalen und internationalen Forscherinnen und Forschern durchzuführen.

Die Kooperationspartner sind neben dem HAIT das Forschungsnetzwerk "Integrations-, Fremdenfeindlichkeits- und Rechtsextremismusforschung" (IFRiS) und das Forschungsinstitut Gesellschaftlicher Zusammenhalt, Standort Universität Leipzig. 

KOOPERATIONEN

Forschungsnetzwerk Integrations-, Fremdenfeindlichkeits- und Rechtsextremismusforschung (IFRiS)

Forschungsinstitut Gesellschaftlicher Zusammenhalt, Standort Leipzig