Home > Research

Research

The Hannah Arendt Institute for Totalitarianism Studies e. V. at the TU Dresden (HAIT) explores the history of Nazism, Communism and the transformation after 1989, as well as manifestations of political extremism in history and the present. This work breaks down into five areas of research:

  1. Research on the National Socialist dictatorship
  2. Research in the history of Communist dictatorships, especially the SED (Socialist Unity Party) dictatorship
  3. Transformation research from an internationally comparative perspective
  4. Theoretical and intellectual-historical foundations of dictatorship research
  5. Research on political extremism  

All this research focusses on the political, social and cultural developments during the National Socialist and SED dictatorships. Examined are their political and ideological preconditions, their organisational structures and the concrete impacts of the two systems of rule. Particular attention is devoted to the analysis of opposition and resistance. Comparative perspectives on other fascist and state socialist systems extend the Institute's research programme, which also includes the critical analysis of political extremism in history and the present. The Institute's historical studies extend beyond 1989. The aftermath of the dictatorships necessitates a differentiated view in the context of comparative transformation research through the present. This transformation research is not limited to the system transformation in 1989, but also includes European transformational processes throughout the 20th century. This area of research thus ties in with the key issue in totalitarianism research of how dictatorial rule is enabled and overcome in modern societies.

The HAIT is also dedicated to the study of current challenges and threats to democracy from autocratic and fundamentalist regimes as well as from extremist, racist and anti-Semitic attitudes and movements. The HAIT accordingly perceives itself as an interface between regional, national and transnational spaces of political experience in an age of redefining designs for a free and democratic society.


Another central component of research activity at the HAIT is the dissemination of results to a general public. This includes working with memorial sites and governmental and non-governmental institutions of political education, advising on matters of regional and national contemporary history and collaborating with teacher-training institutions and schools.

Home > forschung

Forschung

Am Hannah-Arendt-Institut für Totalitarismusforschung e. V. an der TU Dresden (HAIT) wird die Geschichte des Nationalsozialismus, des Kommunismus und der Transformation nach 1989 sowie Erscheinungsformen des politischen Extremismus in Geschichte und Gegenwart erforscht. Diese Arbeiten gliedern sich in fünf Forschungsfelder.

  1. Forschungen zur NS-Diktatur,
  2. Forschungen zur Geschichte kommunistischer Diktaturen, insbesondere der SED-Diktatur,
  3. Transformationsforschung in international vergleichender Perspektive,
  4. Theoretische und wissenschaftsgeschichtliche Grundlagen der Diktaturforschung,
  5. Forschungen zum politischen Extremismus.

Im Mittelpunkt der Forschung stehen die politischen, sozialen und kulturellen Entwicklungen während der NS-Diktatur und SED-Diktatur. Untersucht werden ihre politisch-ideologischen Voraussetzungen, ihre organisatorischen Strukturen sowie die konkreten Auswirkungen beider Herrschaftssysteme. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt auf der Analyse von Opposition und Widerstand. Vergleichende Perspektiven auf andere faschistische und staatssozialistische Systeme erweitern das Forschungsprogramm des Instituts, zu dem auch die kritische Auseinandersetzung mit dem politischen Extremismus in Geschichte und Gegenwart zählt. Die zeithistorischen Forschungen des Instituts sind nicht durch das Jahr 1989 begrenzt. Die Nachwirkungen der Diktaturen erfordern vielmehr eine differenzierte Betrachtung im Rahmen der vergleichenden Transformationsforschung bis in die Gegenwart. Die Transformationsforschung untersucht nicht ausschließlich die Systemtransformation von 1989, sondern schließt europäische Transformationsprozesse im gesamten 20. Jahrhundert ein. Damit knüpft dieses Forschungsfeld an die Kernfrage der Totalitarismusforschung nach der Ermöglichung und Überwindung diktatorischer Herrschaft in modernen Gesellschaften an.

Das HAIT widmet sich auch der Erforschung aktueller Herausforderungen und Gefährdungen der Demokratie, sowohl durch autokratische und fundamentalistische Regime, wie auch durch extremistische, rassistische und antisemitische Einstellungen und Bewegungen. Damit versteht sich das HAIT als Schnittstelle zwischen regionalen, nationalen und transnationalen Erfahrungsräumen des Politischen in einer Zeit der notwendig gewordenen Neubestimmung freiheitlich-demokratischer Gesellschaftsentwürfe.

Zentraler Bestandteil der Forschungstätigkeit am HAIT ist zudem die Vermittlung der Forschungsergebnisse an eine breite Öffentlichkeit. Dazu gehört die Zusammenarbeit mit Gedenkstätten und staatlichen wie zivilgesellschaftlichen Trägern der politischen Bildungsarbeit, die Beratung in Fragen der regionalen und überregionalen Zeitgeschichte sowie die Zusammenarbeit mit Lehrerbildungsinstitutionen und Schulen.